This meeting has been noticed according to the Brown Act rules. The Board of Directors meets regularly on the third Monday of each month. The meetings begin at 7:00 PM in the Monterey City Council Chambers.


Strategic Planning Session

Board of Directors

Monterey Peninsula Water Management District


January 16, 2002

8:00 AM to Noon

MPWMD Conference Room

5 Harris Court, Building G, Monterey

The purpose of this meeting is to provide an opportunity for the exchange of ideas between Board members. No formal action will be taken by the Directors.

I.    Call To Order/Roll Call - Chair Potter

II.    Pledge of Allegiance - Chair Potter

III.    Oral Communications Anyone wishing to address the Board matters not listed on the agenda may do so during Oral Communications. Please limit your comment to three minutes.

IV.     Review Discussion and Action Items from September 5, 2001 Strategic Planning Session - Richard Garcia

V.     Review District Mission and Vision Statement - Richard Garcia

VI.     Discuss EIR/EIS Process - Michael Rushton (Jones & Stokes)

            A. CEQA

            B. NEPA

VII.     Review Work Plans for Strategic Planning Initiatives - General Manager Avila

            A. Evaluate and Certify Water Augmentation Projects in Compliance with CEQA and NEPA

            B. Revise Water Permit Processes

            C. Develop Seaside Basin Ground Water Management Plan

            D. Develop Stormwater Reuse Plan

            E. Increase Innovative and Effective Conservation Practices


VIII.     Review of District Action Plans to Clearly Identify Who? What? When? How? Etc. - Richard Garcia

IX.         Discuss the Future Role or Existence of the Carmel River Advisory Committee - General Manager Avila

X.         Review Status of Board Code of Conduct - Richard Garcia

XI.     Public Comment

XII.     Adjournment

Board of Directors

David Potter, Chair - Representing Monterey County Board of Supervisors

Alvin Edwards, Vice Chair - Division 1

Judi Lehman - Division 2

Molly Erickson - Division 3

Kris Lindstrom - Division 4

Alexander "Zan" Henson - Division 5

David Pendergrass - Mayoral Representative

General Manager

Ernesto A. Avila