Joint Special Meeting of the

Monterey Peninsula Water Management District Board of Directors

and the District’s Policy and Technical Advisory Committees

August 26, 2004



1.                   CALL TO ORDER/INTRODUCTIONS

The meeting was called to order at 7:10 PM in the Lebeck Room of the Pacific Grove Community Center.

General Manager Berger noted that Michael Stamp, representing the Open Monterey Project, and Richard Rosenthal, representing Save Our Peninsula Committee, were invited to participate in this meeting but they declined the invitation.


MPWMD Board Members present:

Alvin Edwards, Chair – Division 1

Judi Lehman, Division 2

Kristi Markey, Division 3

Michelle Knight, Division 4

David Pendergrass, Mayoral Representative

David Potter, Monterey County Board of Supervisors


MPWMD Board Members absent:

Larry Foy, Vice Chair – Division 5


MPWMD Staff Members present:

David A Berger, General Manager

Stephanie Pintar, Water Demand Manager

Arlene Tavani, Executive Assistant


District Counsel present:  David C. Laredo


Committee Members present:          Policy Advisory Committee               Technical Advisory Committee

City of Carmel-by-the-Sea                                                                                  Sean Conroy

City of Del Rey Oaks                           Joe Russell

City of Monterey                                 Dan Albert                                            Chip Rerig

Monterey County

Board of Supervisors                          Dave Potter

Monterey Peninsula

Airport District (MPAD)                     Tex Irwin

City of Pacific Grove                            Morris Fisher                                        Doug Ricks

City of Sand City                                  Kelly Morgan                                       Steve Matarazzo

City of Seaside                                     Darryl Choates                                     Diana Ingersoll



                Susan Kipping, a resident of the City of Felton in Santa Cruz County, expressed concern about the increasing influence over local water systems of RWE/Thames Water, the company that owns California-American Water (Cal-Am).   She stated that a group based in Felton called Friends of Locally Owned Water is working to gain back local control of their water system from Cal-Am.   Ms. Kipping stated that Felton residents are concerned about Cal-Am’s most recent request to the Public Utilities Commission to consolidate the Felton and Monterey Divisions.


3.                   WATER CREDIT ISSUES

No action was taken on the water credit issue.  During the discussion, Diana Ingersoll, Chair of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), stated the TAC position that water credit transfer rules established by Ordinance No. 108 are acceptable, and that there is no need to proceed with adoption of proposed Ordinance No. 117.  The TAC had previously requested that the water credit rules be changed to allow administrative review and approval of water credit transfer applications, but the committee no longer supports that recommendation.   Ms. Ingersoll stated that the jurisdictions will require all applicants for water credit transfers to prepare the environmental analysis needed for CEQA review.   The Policy Advisory Committee representatives from Seaside and MPAD expressed agreement with the recommendation.  No public comment was presented on this issue.



There were no other issues raised by the committee members.


5.             PUBLIC COMMENT

No comments.


6.                   ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 PM.




                                                                                                                David A. Berger, Secretary to the Board